Hi,
I am aware of the fact there is a small partition and a large one. My problem is not to do with the partitions themselves but the device as a whole. Is there a way to remove this “feature” so I can get back to a single partition with a simple partition table that I can modify?
At present it creates 2 devices under /dev (and then only on Linux versions > RHEL4) - 1 small 1 large.
On Windows under disk management it comes up as 2 disks too - 1 small 1 large (and mounts it accordingly to 2 device letters
Neither OS shows it as 1 disk with 2 partitions.
You say that it is in fact 2 partitions. Could you provide a method (Linux/Windows/warranty voiding - I don’t care) of returning this disk to a single partition and behaving as a simple USB key should?
I purchased another key today – which had a similar thing (U3 nonsense) and it came with an uninstaller that took the behaviour similar to the above back into an easily workable device again. Does such a thing exist for this?
Kind Regards,
Martin
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi
This flash drive comes with two partitions
the one you can see is the small partition
you should see a bigger partition too
***** PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT ALL PREVIOUS E-MAIL CORRESPONDENCE ARE INCLUDED IN YOUR REPLY *****
Regards
Viral Jadeja
Technical Support Engineer
Just Rams plc
Tel: +44 20 8451 8700
Fax: +44 20 8459 8751
www.justrams.com
-----------------------------------------------
When i plug it in - it thinks there are 2 disks (not partitions) on both windows and Linux. It has a weird partition table that doesn''t really make sense to me(from Linux fdisk). It comes up as one single device in windows (on add remove devices) so I''m assuming it is only 1 device with 2 partitions yet in the Disk management it is spread over 2 disks. I''m at a bit of a loss really. Is there some weird partition table that makes the OS think it is 2 disks? I want a USB key that i can boot from. I need to be able to change the partition tables. Whats going on here and why can''t i do this simple task? I have tried re-writing the partition tables (via fdisk) and using dd to zero the disks. At present it is back to the original state(minus the password exe). Its quite a common task and there is nothing on the packaging that mentions this anomaly. Can this be "fixed" or is this by design and thus a waste of my money purchasing?
Kind Regards,
Martin